Pleeb0101
February 24th, 2004, 06:26
Hello!

I'd like to point out first of all that I'm a newbie, and that I WILL get this working or so help me god! :wink: I really want to conquer the dark beast that is UNIX, or I'll never be a man. Or something.

Anyway, I've got a new install of FreeBSD-5.2 that I installed exactly lynx and cvsup and the sys source-tree on. I added device pcm to GENERIC and recompiled the Kernel, then updated my ports with cvsup and installed XFree86-4.3.0 from ports. I fixed the configuration from some web-page on how to get X working on my particular laptop(Dell latitude x200) and later changed default color depth to 8 (didn't work at all at 24, google tells me that's probably because I don't have the agpgart.o module) so now it starts! Now the first problem. If you start X and it exits from alt-ctrl-backspace or an error, the next time you run startx the mouse cursor comes up temporarily and then the screen goes blank. The computer keeps going, but the screen is blank. If you switch to another tty there appears some cruft at the top of the screen, but still blank. THis doesn't go away until you reboot. Very annoying.

Sort of ignoring the first problem I went on to install kde3 from ports as well. After adding an .xinitrc to my home directory I started x. KDE started fine, asked me where I was and all that jazz, and got me as far as the desktop. Here it locks up and after a while restarts the computer. I try again and it locks up while I'm still in the setup wizard(appearantly it wasn't saved after the last time) and then restarts.

I REALLY appreciate all answers and I'll be glad to add any important info that I missed mentioning now if needed. Again, I just REALLY want to get this working, I've given up on open source OS's so many times before because I couldn't figure them out...

socomm
February 24th, 2004, 12:05