gmoreno
December 7th, 2002, 15:02
I am a BSD newbie but I have used linux for several years now and I want to see what OpenBSD is like. I had also tried to boot FreeBSD and had similar problem. Half way throug booting up it freezes. I have used several OpenBSD disks and the same thing happens.

bsdjunkie
December 7th, 2002, 15:12
What are you using to create the boot disk from? dd or rawrite?
:roll:

gmoreno
December 7th, 2002, 15:16
dd if=floppyxx of=/dev/fdo

elmore
December 7th, 2002, 16:15
Hmmm... I'm not sure if anyone else does this or if it's even a supported way to make an OBSD disk but I usually just:

cat floppy31.fs > /dev/fd0a

Seems to work fine for me. At least I've never had a problem.

frisco
December 7th, 2002, 16:29
dd if=floppyxx of=/dev/fdo

from the FAQ http://www.openbsd.org/faq/faq4.html#UnixFlop
[code:1:3782cfeee3]
4.1.3.1 - Creating floppies on Unix.
To create a formatted floppy, use the fdformat(1) command to both format and check for bad sectors.

# fdformat /dev/fd0a
Format 1440K floppy `/dev/fd0a'? (y/n): y
processing VVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVV done.

If your output is like the above example, then your disk is OK. However, if you do not see ALL "V"'s then your disk is most likely bad, and you should try a new one.

Once you have a clean, formatted floppy it is time to write the installation image to floppy. For this, you can use the dd(1) utility. An example usage of dd(1) is below:

# dd if=floppy32.fs of=/dev/rfd0c bs=32k

Once the image is written, check to make sure that the copied image is the same as the original with the cmp(1) command. If the diskette is identical to the image, you will just see another prompt.

# cmp /dev/rfd0c floppy32.fs
[/code:1:3782cfeee3]