molotov
December 27th, 2004, 05:32
Its pretty late, if youre lazy read the last paragraph. Otherwise, prepare for a mountain dew inspired rant about a keyboard

The Breakdown:
Recently, the ps2 port on my main workstation died meaning my beloved IBM Model M was no longer functional. I considered the option of getting a usb->ps2 converter, but deceided to get a new keyboard. Having heard good things about the Happy Hacker series of keyboards, I deceided to go for it. After ordering one from http://www.linuxcentral.com and waiting one short week for delivery, I had a brand new black Happy Hacker Lite 2 USB.

First Impressions:
This thing is small. Really small. To give you a rough idea, its the height of a cd, and the width of about 2 and a third cd's. Im a crazy college student who uses cd's as units of measurement. The next thing one notices is the layout of the keys. There are serveral switches in the back with which one can do things like toggle between the primary function of the delete key vs the backspace key. After observing this attention to detail, I went to work at testing out the new configuration.

Differences.
http://www.pfu.fujitsu.com/en/hhkeyboard/images/200B.jpg is what this guy looks like,