php111
April 18th, 2006, 19:28
hello everyone, I'm new here. Is this the right place and the right thread for beginners?

What is the most friendiest Unix there is and the easiest for a total beginner? Or Unix is not right for me? How would i partiton it and everything as a triple boot? If you want to know what OS's i want please just ask me

molotov
April 18th, 2006, 19:40
This place is as good as any for beginners.

This is a BSD forum, hence most people here are going to recommend a BSD flavor. If youre good at reading and understanding documentation, then BSD will probably be right for you.

Paritioning depends largely with what youd like to do on each partition as well as the size of the drive. Post some more details and Im sure people can offer recommendations.

I know a couple people here use GAG (http://gag.sf.net), but I've usually kept it to one OS per machine so I don't have a great deal of experience with it.

Hope this helps you get started

Kernel_Killer
April 18th, 2006, 19:58
If you want to start with BSD, you should start with FreeBSD. Not only is it quite versatile for all users, the online handbook covers almost every topic for any beginning user, including doing multiple partitions, and installing along side with other operating systems.

php111
April 19th, 2006, 17:29
If you want to start with BSD, you should start with FreeBSD. Not only is it quite versatile for all users, the online handbook covers almost every topic for any beginning user, including doing multiple partitions, and installing along side with other operating systems.

Ok thank you so much. I remember trying FreeBSD a while back but it was confusing. I basically wanted it as an OS to mess around with. The 2 OS's i want along with BSD we don't cover here but i will tell you so you can better assist me. Windows XP and MS-DOS 6.22

Strog
April 20th, 2006, 10:27