dsantamassino
June 17th, 2003, 19:35
Hi guys. If you notice that i'm new to this forum. I need help with FreeBSD 4.8 Release. I never ever used any type of Unix before. I want to start using Unix and it's FreeBSD i want to use. I installed FreeBSD. I need help setting it up as a gui. Can someone help me?? I don't think my mouse is going to recognize. I tryed to configure it when the installation was finish. I test my mouse and my mouse did not move. I am not very good with commands. Can someone take me through this process step by step if someone has time?? Please reply back and i would like FreeBSD set up. Thank You guys.

bsdjunkie
June 17th, 2003, 20:08
What type of mouse and video card do you have?

soup4you2
June 17th, 2003, 20:29
also did you install the xfree86 stuff from the installer?

we'll make this easy on you since this is your first post and all.. btw welcome to SE

dsantamassino
June 17th, 2003, 20:41
I will give you a list of my hardware. PCTEL V. 90 Platinum modem. That is a internal winmodem and i know it work unless i try to configure it but i don't know how. PS/2 wheel mouse. Cirrus video card that is a PCI. Compaq MV540 color monitor. Intel(r)Intergrated Audio. That is build in my motherboard. That's basically it unless you could think of something else. Please reply back. Thanks for your help.

dsantamassino
June 17th, 2003, 20:46
I think i install it.

dsantamassino
June 18th, 2003, 17:28
bsdjunkie or someone else. Can someone help me configure and set up a gui in FreeBSD?? Please reply back. Thanks.

tarballed
June 18th, 2003, 18:44
I highly recommend the FreeBSD Handbook.

here is a link that will help you with getting your GUI up:

http://www.freebsd.org/doc/en_US.ISO8859-1/books/handbook/x11.html

Read that and it should get your going.

Tarballed

Kernel_Killer
June 18th, 2003, 21:47
'sysinstall' is your friend. If that command doesn't work for you in the 'root' account, type:

/stand/./sysinstall