Stegnation
September 24th, 2003, 16:44
Hi,

I have a question on updating software. I've installed Apache with MySQL, PHP, mod_perl, mod_ssl, OpenSSL by compiling the sources. But what if I have to update one of these packages? Do I have to compile everything all over again?

I'm new to FreeBSD and I'm using version 4.8.

Jeroen

v902
September 24th, 2003, 16:55
Did you do this from ports/packages or did you fetch the sources from the project's site and compile them? If you did it through ports just get portupdate and read:
http://screamingelectron.org/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=221
If packages, then you can still use portupgrade, or uninstall and reinstall new one.

Note: Doing this may cause loss of information so backup ;)

Stegnation
September 24th, 2003, 16:58
I fetched the sources from all the different websites and compiled them. I did this because I had to set a lot of options.

v902
September 24th, 2003, 17:11
You can set options when compiling from ports by modifying the Makefile or setting a command line option.

I don't know what to tell you, you'll probably just have to manually re-install.

soup4you2
September 24th, 2003, 17:15
i would remove them and goto the /usr/ports/www/mod_php4 dir and run the install from there. it will present you w/ a dialog for what to compile in w/ it. then just cd into the mod_perl or whatever stuff you wish to have.. that way when things get outdated it's a snap to update.

Stegnation
September 24th, 2003, 17:16
Ok, so I can just install everything from ports and when I want to custom compile I'll just have to edit the Makefile or set a command line option? Great news!

This makes everything a lot easier I guess :D

Stegnation
September 24th, 2003, 17:20
Ok, one question. I've tried it before but I wasn't successful. How do I delete all the software I just compiled? I tried uninstalling but it only works with a few. What are all the files I have to delete, like config files of lines in config files?